My sentiments exactly

As is often the case, Jonah Goldberg has elegantly and eloquently nailed my thoughts on a subject — this time, abortion.

And while we’re on the subject of someone articulating better than I could my ideas about a subject, why am I not surprised that Dennis Prager correctly summarizes how false the kerfuffle is about Ann Coulter’s latest remarks.

And on the subject of good writing, Rick Moran brilliantly dissects Hillary Clinton’s logical fallacies and factual misrepresentations regarding foreign policy as it would be under her watch (although he’s honest enough, when the rare occasion merits, to give credit where credit is due).

4 Responses

  1. I know that I’m out on an island when it comes to Ann Coulter, but I refuse to defend her. She’s a shameless self-promoter, but that’s okay. What I don’t like about her is that she is “our” answer to the Daily Kos, Michael Moore, etc. She is mean-spirited and frequently vicious in her comments. If the Angry Left wants to act that way, so be it. That’s its problem. I don’t see why we have to act the same way.

  2. Saul of Tarsus, a well known Jewish tent-maker of his day wrote to the early church: “There are a variety of gifts, but always the same Spirit; there are all sorts of services to be done, but always to the same Lord; working in all sorts of different ways in different people, it is the same God who is working in all of them. “(1Cor 12:4-7)

    The whole chapter is about the variety and unity of gifts. It is a good lesson. We can see the same differing/unity of gifts in our own American Revolution – the gifts of words, of leadership, of finances, of daring and of caution. But all to the same end.

    So I agree with you, Geek, I don’t see why we all have to act the same, either!

  3. Geek –

    I’m on that island with you.

    Coulter so frequently is right on the money in her writing but, as Bookworm pointed out, when she is opining via the pen, she has had time to sit and finesse her points and have an editor do a once-over.

    When that woman opens her mouth, I just cringe. I cringe because I can’t shake the feeling that her ultimate goal is NOT to make a point but to be as shocking as possible. And when that is your goal, you end up doing more harm to your side. She is just poisonous and disgraceful.

    And you are correct – if those on the left want to act the way they act, that is fine. But her behavior is so similar to theirs and I want none of it.

    Deana

    P.S. Bookworm – thanks for posting to Jonah Goldberg’s piece. What a treasure!!!! He said what I have felt in my heart for a long time.

    No one is pro-life because they want friends.

  4. Echoing Deana, I also thank you for the link to Jonah’s
    article. I’d like to say, since I teach both basic Biology
    and a class called Science and Society (our college is
    a Seventh-day Adventist institution), that I believe there
    is a really good reason that so many folks find themselves
    saying “I don’t know” about this issue.

    It’s because settled scientific knowledge, about when
    a new human life actually begins, is at war with our
    (perfectly understandable) feelings of compassion for a
    woman caught in what appears to be an impossible
    situation. There is ONE place in the development of a
    human being that one can draw a bright line to separate
    entities that are qualitatively different in a morally
    significant way — and that place is conception. Every
    other suggestion is arbitrary in important ways, and
    arbitrary lines can (and are) moved all over the place,
    putting the weak at the mercy of the more powerful.

    People of integrity may not see this at the conscious
    level, but it’s there….and if you have integrity, you
    simply aren’t capable of subordinating any human’s
    (at whatever stage of development) most basic right
    to the convenience of someone more powerful.

    At least, that’s how it looks from here.

Leave a Reply

