When you assume, you make an ass of you and me

You’ve all heard the expression that’s in my post title, regarding the error of making assumptions.  I was reminded of its truth this weekend.  I have a pool, and I have a pool service.  Today, I’m having a little pool party today for the neighborhood kids.  Yesterday, I peeled back the pool cover, checked it out, and discovered that the pool service has not, in fact, been doing its job.  (It’s been foggy, so we hadn’t used the pool lately.)  The pool bore a decided resemblance to a swamp.

The problem, of course, is that I had assumed that, since the service was billing me, it was actually taking care of my pool.  Foolish me.  As it is, I’ve been working frantically for two days, and have succeeded in getting the pool almost completely blue, but not very clear.   I am quite mad.  The company’s president has also been ignoring my emails and phone calls, something calculated to make me more mad.  That’s why I’m grumbling here.

So, grumble, grumble, grumble.  Pfeh!

5 Responses

  1. Lawsuit? Civil claims?

  2. Book, I am installing an in ground pool put in my backyard. It will be finished this week. Tell me the truth: is a pool worth it? Or is it just a wet money pit?

  3. Nothing as dramatic as that. Just me being really mad and finding a new pool service. The irony is that I’ve been taking care of my own pool for years and at last succumbed to a service because I just couldn’t keep up with the algae — only to have them leave me with a pool worse than anything I’ve done!

    As for your question, D., I have to say that our pool has seen many, many happy hours of play. I don’t know if I would have installed a pool if the house hadn’t come with one, and it’s certainly a lot of work to maintain, but the kids have a wonderful time. It makes our house one of the magnet houses in the neighborhood during the warm weather. this means that, during the cold weather, when the kids vanish to other neighbors’ houses, I don’t feel guilty. I’ve done my bit keeping the kids on the block happy!

  4. It makes our house one of the magnet houses in the neighborhood during the warm weather.

    So that’s why you tend to be the gatekeeper for the hellions ;)

  5. Well, you possess the expertise – you can make them feel rotten about it for the next eleven years, Counsellor.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

